NITK- Chapter 4

I wasted my 3rd sem holidays in ADCOMS. I had joined ADCOMS only for a good grade, but it didn’t work. I lost interest in food  @ ADCOMS  after 2 days & stopped going.  Nikhil, Arun & Rakesh were regular & were the only one who heard K.C’s speech. Those seminars they attended made them get scared of K.C.Shet, he actually slept all through the presentations done by PHD students & questioned them for an hour minimum only based on the conclusion he observed.

After a short break, the 4th sem began. This time we had very interesting subjects. I guess this was the most interesting sem till then. PDC was mind blowing & Forouzan made it very interesting. Classes by HOD were boring as ever but this time we had started giving proxy to min 3 per class by each person present, so we were doing some good for the other folks. Reading Forouzan was so interesting that I never felt like closing the book.  Madhavi ma’am was the main attraction in OT class..Ppl attended the class just to see her, later they got bored of her strict lectures.  Bala loved even her 🙂 Shankar’s doubts were highly oriented towards female lecturers & he had no doubts in the class of male lecturers… Asha ma’am was highly impressed by Shankar & his doubts…  But MMM was ahead of  the whole college by scoring 98 / 100 including mid sem, end sem & all tests in NM… MMM went mad with such subjects.. Microprocessor was taken by Bharati & her aldraam was always on ( spelled as alarm).. She screwed the subject big time & we hated her more now.. But Hebbar sir, gave good add ons.. Aparna ma’am continued her good work thru TOC but the lecturer who got the closest to us came in to the frame then.. Soumya ma’am had come up with her 1st subject for us.. Computer Graphics… She had a straight & simple style of teaching.. Anytime approachable for any problem.. She was the mentor for our class & cos of that she had to keep an eye on us.. However close she was to anyone in the class, she was never partial in evaluations… She loved our class & always gave us chocolates & sweets.. It was more than a class  to lecturer relation with her.. Aparna Ma’am & Soumya Ma’am were the only 2 lecturers who became so close with the batch..

An incident to remember in Bharati’s class when she told, whoever accepted that they were talking in the class would get chocolates. Yohan & Ankit were greedy to get them & stood up & then she told them, meet  HOD for talking in class 😀 Favourite pastime for me & Srikanth was to gossip in class about everyone around. It was basically a knowledge sharing session everyday in class 😉 Later irritating Nikhil Bhat was the next favourite job.. He used to get pissed off pretty early then… MMM was getting famous for his PJs.. Adarsh used to go home on every thursday night & returned on tuesday mornings.. He took a day off on tuesday so that he gets fresh.. He used to book ticket on wednesday &  was busy packing on thursday.. He didn’t find enough time to attend classes.. Yash’s interest in Dota & sleep was increasing.. Arun was concentrating more on books.. He was still determined & I clearly saw his hunger for grades.. Jagat had lost interest in classes completely , Premm had seen all the movies(u know what movies) available in the whole college..Kadli was building new algos.. SB was busy changing places in class.. Bharath & Ankur were competing with me ( I arrived min 10 mins before the class & always won )..Shaani & Vinay were busy playing crosswords & Varna asking doubts.. This was a typical day for us..

In February we had been to Pilikula & it was awesome fun.. We had to teach school children the usage of  Internet & Computers.. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed it.. Natasha got a portrait made , by some famous painter there.. A day there flew away:) By the time we got back to coll , communal riots had started..Then it was time for another Incident, but Indian Oceans made it boring on the most important day.. I realized then , that it was never the programmes, it was the friends who made the Incidents wonderful.. I swore that I would never miss the Incident for the coming 2 years.. I met with an accident after my birthday again & was hospitalized.. This time I took it very lightly & managed up very well.. Din allow it to affect my academics.. On the day I completely recovered, there was a send off party for seniors.. Attended it & it was awesome fun.. I have some memorable pics of that day (Nikhil Bhat having samosa, with the photoshop work  on it by varna & me, it looked much better).. Then it was the usual exams, labs etc.

We had TOC as our last exam. Ankur left the exam hall at 4 cos he had booked tickets for the movie starting at 5. He was crazy. He was always like this 🙂 He enjoyed what he did & none would change him. He slept everyday at 10 or 11.. Never bothered how much more to study for the next day’s exam, but he did very well in class..  After exam I, Shankar & Nikhil Bhat left to watch Spiderman, didn’t get tickets so had to go for Bheja Fry. What happened then in Pizza Hut was hilarious.. Unexpectedly a fren of ours bumped in (name won’t be revealed) & we didn’t want the fren to join us nor we could avoid. All 3 of us picked up our glass of water & started drinking.. Finally I had to strike the conversation & was proud of facing the situation & picked up my glass again.. Shankar did the same but Nikhil had decided that he wouldn’t open his mouth.. He drank all the water.. If he was provided the bucket I am sure he would have finished it too..

I was stuck up in the movie between Nikhil & Shankar.. Shankar was sad & in the condition of almost breaking down after an SMS he received..Nikhil was enjoying the movie & laughing his throat out.. I was confused how to react, might be I didn’t enjoy the movie much cos I was busy thinking how should I react.. Shankar was sad & movie was hilarious.. Soon Shankar was all good, he got the good news 🙂 This semester was awesome & I bonded really well with Nikhil & Shankar in this sem..

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to NITK- Chapter 4

  1. rashmi says:

    very nice 🙂 quite interesting stories at NITK…felt as though i read chetan bhagat’s novel 🙂

  2. Nikhil B says:

    Brings back great memories man .. the never-ending water drinking incident was truly priceless :).. and wasnt this the time when Shankar was supposed to treat us and you ending up footing the bill?
    And you call me a miser ..

    • Nikhil Prabhakar says:

      Oh Shit.. I forgot. It was Shankar’s bday treat & I ended up paying for it.. Crap.. I need to still get that treat..

Leave a comment