NITK- Chapter 5

4th sem holidays were awesome 🙂 Had been home for a month, then Bangalore, where I met up with frens.. Met Milan in between.. He too had come home… KMC had made him cooler.. Now he had actually started speaking about & with gals, but a lotta improvement was needed 🙂

5th semester started with class confusion, our favourite Ground Floor class was given to juniors & we were sent to 2nd floor. 😦 We tried to have our classes in GF whenever we could.. Ground Floor class was so much fun & it felt like home..

The Parade also started.. We had to walk to the dept to attend 2 hours of OS class & then back to Main Building(MB).. OS class was like a slide reading session..It was boring to come back to MB, many students never turned back after the OS class..They left to hostel directly.. Sometimes, it was irritating when it rained heavily & we had to go back to MB in that rain to attend the next class.. Might be 2/3 ppl in an umbrella( ofcourse every1 of us got wet).. Whenever the power went off, Annappa sir used to teach the same slide which was on then, until the power came or he found some1 in the class to screw up & waste time ..
DBMS classes were earlier taken by Santhi ma’am ( Yes, the spelling is correct). She was torturous, she spoke continuously & non stop.. Nothing went into my head.. Then it was Soumya Kamath ma’am.. She was  awesome 🙂 She went through the required topics with a reasonable pace & she made sure we understood the concepts.. Even labs were handled by her & ofcourse we never worked 🙂 MMM had found out a new game for us in the lab.. “Gold Miner”.. We all went crazy about the game & we actually played it for 1 full year!!! In between there were always Chicken Invaders & Eggs.. FYI I completed 92 levels in Gold Miner & I still have the proof for it 🙂
Systems Programming was a comedy class… D’Souza ma’am wrote on the board each word she knew & never explained anything of what she wrote.. We had to copy whatever she wrote on the board , or photocopy the notes of the one who copied it & reproduce the same in the exam.. I guess this was the worst subject we had in 4 years.. In end sem exam, she literally asked us to write all she taught us.. In a question she gave 12 (3 digit) numbers to be sorted, by 6 algos & each intermediate step had to be written.. It was a 4 marks question!!! MMM had taken 2 extra booklets (OMG.. He sucked, & so did Charith )
Computer Networks was an awesome subject.. The reference book was awesome & more over subject was taken  by Soumya ma’am..:) So we had no pressure 🙂 Just listen to the class & put it back in the paper was the method in case of theory.. In case of problems it was hard at times, but with little effort it could have been cracked.. Ma’am stopped taking attendance, classes got thiner with each passing day:) Her announced test was a copy paste.. Whole class had same answer & Ma’am voluntarily asked that whose one paper she had to correct. That would have saved a lot of effort to her;) Poor ma’am ahd to correct all papers..I had copied well. Got 10 on 10 like another 50 ppl who got it 😉 We pleaded ma’am to bunk/cancel classes.. She did it few times. She was really sweet & understood that we were lazy asses 😀
It was K.B.Kiran Sir for Engineering Economics.. I loved the subject, I loved all management subjects.. They didn’t ask me to write a code or construct an algorithm 🙂 Life was much simpler there.. I knew sir personally from 1st year  & my 1.2 Trillion USD answer had put a not so true image of a good student in his mind.. He promised me to give 2 extra marks in internals(he never did :()..So in most of his classes I had shut my mouth & maintain my not so true image.. It was hard.. He had excess love towards Ajey (called hippi by Sir) & Biswas.. He always wanted to screw Biswas, but Biswas was too good for him.. His surprise test on the last day was so interesting.. Most of the class knew shit in it & all pages were empty.. Yet he made sure he gave some good random marks to everyone around.. He gave us an assignment with the answers & expected us to copy it in a sheet & submit it to him.. He somehow wanted to give us marks 😀 He was awesome 🙂 we faced no problem in his class & he gave awesome grades:) Guys in ECE were jealous 😛 Kiran sir was a great help when I & Nikhil Bhat needed reco for the MBA applications later in 8th sem.. He actually spent more than an hour with us discussing what to write & helped us in the best way he could..

None of the subjects were creating pressure this sem, all were cool.. I had to choose between (low fees + scholarship) TIME or (high fees + newly starting @ NITK) IMS for CAT coaching.. I took opinions from my frens joining coaching institutes.. All those who were joining TIME, joined cos of brand or low fees @ NITK.. Got a good feedback about regular & structured approach @ IMS.. I chose IMS over TIME & i never regretted it.. There were no gals there, which made it not so happening 😛 but it had awesome lecturers & was a great place to learn. Small batch made it easier for interaction..

After a long break I started going back to the temple near the light house.. Started going more often to beach with frens.. Was becoming regular drinker of sugar cane juice on the way to beach.. Natasha was always there to treat me with Hot Chocolate near Gals’ Block 🙂 But it was Yohan & Piyush who emptied my pockets.. Loafers, they never improved.. Chocolate cones were awesome at Reddy’s.. Sev Puri & Bhel @ Sadanand were yum  🙂

Nikhil, Arun & I continued our fights about who would carry the photocopies back to room.. Nikhil Bhat once left the books on a footpath after getting pissed with us.. Lol.. He was always high on temper.. But then I & Arun got pissed cos he kept books on footpath.. Nikhil Bhat developed a sadistic pleasure in getting all treats from me & saving all his money :X  He never treated me for nething, he was amazingly stingy 😛 He never ever gave a Bday treat in his life..
Arun,Yash & I got immense pleasure in irritating Nikhil & his roommate Nitin.. Nitin was an electrical student & he couldn’t even change a tube light:D 😀 He was lazier than Nikhil Bhat ( I swear..I am not lying!!).. I always saw him doing socio-political service and coming back to room in the morning at 5 a.m. He never did any work in dept.. He listened to all the shit his classmates told him about others & still never slapped them (He was the CR of trical dept)… Nitin was a very sweet speaking & diplomatic guy, which helped him attracting more than the required no. of gals, turning to confusion (remember Garam Masala ??).
Arun & Nitin used to argue every single day on issues from charger, soap, bucket to college Dean. Arun (AK: had 2 names in it,Arun Kumar & ….shhh) had his own secrets.. He is a silent & reserved chap.. Earlier I & Nikhil felt little hard to understand when Arun was joking & when was he serious.. Later I managed to understand, Nikhil is still trying.. 🙂 Arun was one of the sweetest fellows.. He was down to earth & easy to mingle with.. He had a good sense of humour  & his Kannada one liners were mind blowing.. We used to sit & create MTV Roadies episodes keeping our lecturers in the show..We almost created a whole season.. Arun & I both had one GOD in cricket: Sachin.. We used to argue for hours with Nikhil Bhat : who liked Lara over Sachin(He hated Sachin cos every1 liked Sachin ,he wanted to be different!! Retarded explanation I must say).. N when it came to movies, I & Nikhil Bhat liked Aamir but Arun liked SRK.. In this case I & Nikhil argued against Arun for as long as we could. Arun would never give up on his stands, whatsoever it be. I was always a winner cos I always had a support in both the cases & majority won(votes only amongst 3 of us)..

I spent most of my time on phone or in Arun/Yash’s room.. Nikhil, Arun & I used to sit & chat all time.. Yash played Dota or watched Southpark when free from Dota.. Yash always had good future plans..He asked me to study well, atleast for my children (my children would love their Yash uncle :D).. He suggested awesome movies to watch &  we ended up arguing on AVAST & VISTA (I loved them both cos I used them :D)..Yash was a very good batsman, but he played only once in a year (Super 6)..He loved friends, he was good at arguing & not giving up his stands just like his roommate Arun..But Yash preferred not to get into one 🙂 Yash had a good knack of speaking to people (Thanks to his dad).. He  loved home food a lot, he skipped meals in hostel, cos he hated it..He was even too lazy to walk to the mess..

Days passed to months & months into a semester in such short time..I had completed 5/8th of my engineering chatting with frens.I didn’t even gain a bit size knowledge,where as lecturers expected us to know in GBs(It is gigabyte & not gals’ block).

This entry was posted in NITK and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment