NITK- Chapter 6

5th Semester was my best in terms of grades & I had the max variation in my scoring levels in class by now. 2nd sem being my lowest to a 5 point+ & 5th being my highest till then with an 8 Point+… 6th semester was expected to be happening with Incident & Internship offers coming.

Compiler Design was taken by Santhi ma’am.. Subject was interesting but her pace irritated a bit.. Shankar hated ma’am to core & he always had to say this

Kitna ganda sa smile karti, lagta hai use pakad ke maaro

It was apparent that he didn’t like all female lecturers, only the selected ones were the privileged ๐Ÿ˜€ We didn’t even bother to write a single code in Compiler lab.. Now we meant 95% of the class.. We were expected to learn Lex, etc.. Instead we brought codes from seniors & submitted it.. We weren’t in the condition to even explain it.. ๐Ÿ˜› Compiler Labs provided so much free time that it ย helped us to master in all the games & set new records..

Software Engineering was taken by BRC sir..For all those who thought it was a shitty subject, guys U need this knowledge when U become a project manager.. after 5 years in IT, U wld be doing only this..It was more important than Compilers..We only used to have debates in this subject. Each class had 2 debates on a given topic.. I guess groups got quite some time to prepare.. It was according to roll no.s & as expected my partner was Nikhil Bhat ๐Ÿ™‚ By then we had already signed the deal that Arun would do a minor project & I would do the major project with Nikhil Bhat in final year.. Nikhil was the most qualified & capable to do any work amongst 3 of us.

SE lab was awful with about 30 pages of documentation required. All the SDLC phases had to be reported to Rahul Godbole (a senior in Mtech batch). He looked like terror cos he was capable of finding mistakes in our project ย however good it be.He crashed our project with his destructive testing methods every time.. His strict correction & valuable feedback came handy cos our project improved with time & final presentation to him, hardly had any problems…He supported us when required & helped us..Our final presentation was seen by Pias & he din even bother to see our project..He asked about HTML standards we used & threw us out.. That was pathetic I must say..

Distributed System was the continuation of OS in the worst possible form.. Annappa sir now didn’t allow late comers.. Students had to answer a Q based on his previous class to get attendance.. I remember how Nikhil, Fantastic 4, Arun, Puthri, MMM were all caught & they had to answer the Q.. Shaani, baddi maga was the only one who escaped thru it..

DAA was taken by Vani ma’am.. I was never qualified to understand such subjects.. Its always hard for an Arts student to get into Engineering & understand it..I felt it would have been better if I took Arts.. I have high regards for Vani ma’am cos of her support to ย MMM & Yohan in their Major project !! She never ever scolded them & also stood by them against externals at times..

The show stopper of the sem was Indrani ma’am.. She taught MTP.. Her classes were brilliant ๐Ÿ™‚ We sang, we slept, we threw rockets @ her, we blamed all that on Shravan.. Whoever got caught told his name as Shravan ๐Ÿ˜‰ Shravan was always absent & we escaped using his name:) Ma’am had a class at 11 & everytime we celebrated birthdays in her class.. Once she was angry ย & asked that ย Y do we always celebrate birthdays in her class.. Vaibhav was spontaneous to tell that we all were born b/w 11 to to 12.. Lol.. I am sure she never understood it ๐Ÿ˜€ N ofcourse, Shankar was the only one who asked doubts..

IMS classes got interesting & the population got thinner.. Adarsh & I used to discuss about preparations, shortcuts, strategies ย while walking back home everyday..We thought in opposite directions so it was helpful to get into thinking with ย other perspective.. I learnt a lot from him, different perspectives, different books to read & I loved his passion towards the goal.. He was a dreamer & thought what would he do when he became the CEO of some big company..I was a looser, I used to think what should I do to score well in CAT,FMS,JMET, SNAP etc.. He always believed in long term plans & he had clear path & direction..But, He was very moody & I hated his speed of drinking coffee or tea, OMG he wasted 15 mins in drinking a glass of tea in the top floor canteen..He loved home so much that he never came to coll :DHe bunked all the classes,attended all the fests & came to hostel in the evenings & made it special for friends..He lived each moment of his for frens ๐Ÿ™‚ He was a true fren ๐Ÿ™‚ Always there for anything U ask for..

Incident was awesome with KK performing in it.. That was the best liveย show I ever attended..It was beautiful & throat was paining after we shouted for hours..Eastern musicals was at its best & NITK won it as it did every year..Fashion show was awesome for obvious reasons ๐Ÿ™‚ Gals were looking hot..:P I had few visitors for this Incident ๐Ÿ™‚ Rashmi had turned up for this Incident ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ & I was very happy to see her after a long time..She stayed for 2 days & time ran thru those 2 days..Most memorable 2 days ๐Ÿ™‚ I wished Soniya had come too..Vinay had promised to come, but he din turn up.. Baba had come..Mithun’s mom too had turned up.. Mithun was my classmate for a week when I was in Mech..He was a frequent visitor to my place..He loved home food & mom made coffee..He spoke more than I didย @ my home & made me feel like an outsider..He always told me that he would only marry the gal & I was allowed to take her away right from Mantap ๐Ÿ™‚ He wanted to help me by finding a gal for me.. ๐Ÿ˜€ He never understood that I was faster ๐Ÿ™‚

Whole day I loafed around & at nights we played loud music in hostel.. I slept in Nikhil’s room & Nitin had to sleep elsewhere ๐Ÿ™‚ Poor fellow Nitin.. I & Nikhil used to chat till the sun rose & we slept thru the day.. Almost every Inci night we both used to chat & discuss every interesting & not so interesting things we did in life.. Inci nights were memorable & it seems like I remember everything of it ๐Ÿ™‚

Yash,Yondy, Nikhil & I were the partners in Software Engineering Project..3 of us made only documents & we made Nikhil code for the whole project ๐Ÿ˜‰ He did it all alone. He was getting ready to code all alone for the major project ๐Ÿ™‚

MMM provided me all the codes for Networks lab ๐Ÿ™‚ It was like, I survived thru my engineering only on his,Jagat’s & Nikhil’s codes..I & Natasha had ย actually run the codes ย & typed the whole thing ย againย to make sure we knew the algorithm, & we didn’t make any major mistakes.. Colgate took our Viva & he knew shit about Networks.. For Compiler lab I had enough data on LAN & on my PC to get the output.. But getting 2nd stage output was unrealistic, so I never copied that code.. ๐Ÿ™‚ Though I tried to write the code with some shortcut method which Arun had shown b4 exam..Got some decent result out of it ๐Ÿ™‚ Nanda had completed his 1st stage output & was caught playing games during lab exam.. Hahaha.. I dono Y Nanda tried to play games in his last lab exam of his life ๐Ÿ˜€ I know we were addicted to computer games big time..

This sem Nikhil Bhat got internship offers from IBM & ISI,Kolkata but he joinedย Microsoft to complete his internship & came out with a PPO in MS ๐Ÿ™‚ He was amazingly talented.. I dono why din I ever learn anything from the closest fren I had.. Nikhil Bhat was a child prodigy ๐Ÿ™‚ Shaani, Srikanth, Charith, Varna, Vinny, MMM , Jagatall got good Interns ๐Ÿ™‚ I & Puthri(Pratik Puthran) spent a month in ITI..

6th sem was filled with those moments which anyone would love to remember throughout their life ๐Ÿ™‚ I definitely would ..Though many of those talks can’t be shared & many feelings can’t be expressed in this post.. I rate 6th sem as the 2nd best sem of the 8.. This was when I felt I should never leave NITK ย ๐Ÿ™‚

This entry was posted in NITK and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment