NITK- Chapter 7

Holidays after 6th sem was quite a happening time ๐Ÿ™‚ With Puthri I shifted to a PG near ITI.. We had 3 roommates there..Abhinav Sarkar was our 1st roommate( He worked in Infy & enjoyed his free time in movies. His sis stayed near by & he spent most of his time there..We discussed his work & about Infy a lot). Another roommate was from Chennai & he worked in JP Morgan..He had a TV, which we used whenever he wasn’t there & my job was to leave no clues that we were in his room ๐Ÿ˜› ย Our 3rd roommate was Balakrishna (He called himself as balls…lol)..He was a 40+ fellow who was a mech engineer, who learnt java to work in an IT industry, but had opened a furniture shop.. He bugged me to core & asked me to play old Hindi songs all time..I argued with him for everything I could,just to irritate him :)..He was drunk 24 hours & Puthri loved him cos Puthri got free cigarettes & we both got dinner treats from him ๐Ÿ™‚ He even gave us a booze party while we were leaving.. Alas.. I don drink ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Puthri & I could find new reasons everyday to escape from ITI.. He put proxies for me when I bunked.. I never went to ITI without him.. We went 1 hour late everyday & escaped in lunch break after signing up the attendance.. Roney (HR mgr) once caught us bunking & he gave a lecture for an hour.. After the lecture we escaped ๐Ÿ™‚ He couldn’t control us, we used all the deficiencies in the system to escape each day ๐Ÿ™‚ We sat in the PG & watched every other stupid movie we could.. Due to unsecured wifi we got free net in our PG, which made us download everything we wanted..Life was fun & I roamed all around Blore with frens ๐Ÿ™‚

Finally it was final Year

7th sem was an important sem for the whole coll… It was time for placements.. Whoa, that didn’t excite me.. I wasn’t bothered about placements & MBA was my priority.. Mom had no problems & Dad didn’t feel it exciting ๐Ÿ™‚ He thought it was good to have a back up.. I preferred on taking risk :)Taking risks made life awesome ๐Ÿ™‚ It gave lotta tension & put pressure on me.. Sometimes pressure was horrible to bear but sometimes it kept me going ๐Ÿ™‚ I guess if I was placed then I wouldn’t have taken preparations so seriously..

My dream came true.. Once I had a dream in 2nd year, in which Nikhil Bhat ย was placed in MS & Shankar was waiting for his interview result of a good company.. I had shared that with both of them ๐Ÿ™‚ Nikhil got a PPO from MS!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Shankar got into Symbian later ๐Ÿ™‚
All frens got placed in awesome companies ๐Ÿ™‚ Oracle was 1st company on campus & it took ย Jagat,Anup, Dutta, Vaibhav,Lala ย & ย our beloved Nitin ย :)Jagat thought he wouldn’t be able to crack STG & was applying for App dvpt..He still doesn’t know his capabilities for sure.. ย Later Shaani made into Yahoo.. Charith smashed the dragon balls into Adobe..Varna, Vinny,SB, HD & Magga thru HP R&D ..Aditya, Natasha, Yohan & Ningi got thru HP App Dvpt..Srikanth had IBM PPO..Puthri got thru Exeter .. Arun after facing initial bumps got into IRunway…Yash into Bank Of America & TCS.. Rama into TCS.. Bala into Goldman..Mithun into JK Tyres..Anil made it into ACC.. Kadli into StrandLife..Deepan started his connection with Nokia then ( Now he is doing his intern from IIMA in Nokia.Connecting well I must say )..Surely the company loves him..Avinash into Aricent ย & Premm & Nanda ย into Samsung…Anoopie cracked CDOT & Biswas into ZS…Sukesh into IGATE & Piyush into CSC.. Nipun was into Philips..
Ofcourse I ain’t missing mentioning about MMM…Manish M Mulani.. He got placed in DeShaw.. By the way it was the 1st company he applied for & he cracked thru it ๐Ÿ™‚ If by any chance ppl have forgotten about what he is, lemme bring it back..He was our batch state topper in 10th standard with 617/625.. !!! He was the one on whom all of us depended for our exam preparation.. He took about 8 hours to finish the whole sem portions & he was ready to sleep at 10 P.M on the previous night of exam!!!!!!! ย  Then we made him stay awake till 3 a.m cos we forced ย him to explain what he had prepared for exams ๐Ÿ™‚ Most of us passed Compilers, DAA, IS etc only cos there was Manish guiding us.. ย ๐Ÿ™‚ Atleast I passed cos of him.. I never saw MMM tensed at any point of time ๐Ÿ™‚ Might be that was the secret of his success ๐Ÿ™‚ He was versatile & tried every other language he could put his hand on( I am talking about coding & not speaking).. His hobbies were to participate in topcoder & create games like Minesweeper (which turned out to be better than original ).. He wasn’t a nerd, he didn’t mug up books, he didn’t waste time seeing what was in the portions.. He did well cos he loved his job ๐Ÿ™‚ He made himself capable of doing what he loved the most,coding.. Remember Rancho of 3 idiots?? Manish worked hard cos he wanted to & thats y he was successful..

I sat thru the written of many companies, I practiced cracking aptitudes for entrance exams by attending them.. Many a times I solved the paper, marked wrong answers & turned back ๐Ÿ™‚ My intention was to crack ย thru written & never thru companies.. ๐Ÿ™‚

It was time for major project.. Soumya ma’am was done with 8 groups & we were late to approach her..Vani ma’am wasn’t sure of taking anyone then.. We weren’t sure about HOD & the only logical option which remained was Annappa sir ๐Ÿ˜ฆ We took it on.. I guess most of us were under Annappa sir.. I & Nikhil Bhat, Arun & Avi, Yash & Puthri, Varna & Vinny, Srikanth & Shaany, Nitin & Lala & Natasha & Sukhi..

Nikhil decided the topic, he knew what to do.. He sent me some material to read & he decided the platform ๐Ÿ™‚ My job was to just make some documents ready for submission & make the ppt ready ๐Ÿ™‚ Ofcourse I had to ask him ย till where had he completed it & I made sure I got all the flowery part to explain & pushed the thorny part to him.. As he was the master in managing it ๐Ÿ™‚ Annappa sir had decided that he would literally rape us everytime we met. We had to get the diary signed by him every week.. How sick!! We missed it almost each week ๐Ÿ˜€ Then loads of lectures & waiting.. The process repeated itself ๐Ÿ™‚ Though the worst was yet to come..

I finished my MAT exam, which I took as aย practiceย exam before CAT & did pretty well..IMS classes were now being held in Mangalore & Adarsh loved it.. It was in St.Agnes (gals’ coll ).. There were 2 good looking gals in IMS class.. Melinda & I forgot the other gal’s name ๐Ÿ™‚ Adarsh was mad behind Melinda & Pai thought we should gift her to him (as if she was our property!!).. Frankly speaking Melinda was too good ๐Ÿ™‚ Extremely good looking.. Other gal was also ย very cute & Adarsh liked her too , cos he felt she was girly:) I remember a GD where it was Melinda & 4 of us.. She was driving the GD & none of us were actually speaking against her even though we didn’t agree with her point ๐Ÿ™‚ We didn’t want to cut her conversation after all.. Finally I was the unlucky idiot who spoke against her ๐Ÿ˜ฆ There wasn’t a need though..Pai was cruising through all the SIMCATs with his highest being in DI everytime.. He was setting up new records each time ๐Ÿ™‚ By the way he is in IIMC now.. ๐Ÿ™‚

My performances in SIMCAT varied from 0 to hero & I didn’t know how to maintain goodย performancesย consistentlyย ๐Ÿ™‚ Nikhil Bhat, Arun & Ningi started taking SIMCATs & made competition harder.. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Academics had come to an halt with placement preparations or placement parties being the priority to us..

ITA was taken by K.C & we didn’t really care much.. Half of the class he wasted in boasting about himself, half of the remaining in screwing students & trying to look angry.. Rest in teaching or taking attendance.. He thought he told the best one liners.. Once he threw out everyone who didn’t bring the course structure.. I was in the class with 5 other unlucky ppl.. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I should have walked out like many others did.. ย He loved fantastic 4, especially after Srikanth & Shaany bunked some initial classes ๐Ÿ˜‰ K.C wanted to access hostel LAN to get Kuchelan movie.. Lol.. Good that he didn’t.. Bala was quick to reply that he would copy it in a DVD for him..There was a long mail thread running with different opinions when I had called for a mass bunk of his viva cos it was on Diwali evening( Viva never happened).. We wereย losers, 4 years & no mass bunk.. ย :X Fumes.. Fumes.. Hehe.. Lack of unity I must say.. I vote for PESIT in this case over NITK.. ๐Ÿ™‚

Artificial Intelligence was taken by HOD & now I used to put proxy for min 6 ppl per class ๐Ÿ™‚ I was getting better in these things ๐Ÿ™‚ By now I had stopped caring abt our dept rules & regulations.. HOD’s surprise tests were pathetic, as none knew nething, he told he would give 1 mark of 5 for just attending.. Lol.. Even Anirudh started giving blank papers ๐Ÿ™‚ I & Nikhil had become masters by then in copying in HOD’s subject.. We copied in all surprise tests ๐Ÿ˜€ In his final test HOD requested us to not reveal it outside that he was allowing us to copy in surprise tests.. After that he left the room with papers in our hand ๐Ÿ™‚ Sweetest deed ever huh?? ๐Ÿ™‚ Rakesh taught me how to do well in exams, he asked me to write “Machine beats Man” after every answer, it was theย favoriteย line of our HOD while teaching AI ๐Ÿ™‚ Guess it worked for me..

Air & Noise Pollution was my civil engineering elective ๐Ÿ™‚ I took it so that I didn’t have to study for my exams.. I never did.. Earlier it was taught by Varghese sir, he made even this subject interesting & then he left the coll .Someone else took it up later.. He never taught us anything about Air & Noise.. He taught us Water pollution for the whole sem !!!! Once Thufi asked him that why was he teaching water pollution, when the requirement of the subject was air & water pollution.. Sir was blank, he told he had done his PHD in water pollution so he is teaching it.. ROFL.. This was the most interesting answer ever heard I must say ๐Ÿ™‚

Civil Engineering Systems was also another Civil elective I took for similar reason ๐Ÿ™‚ I attended one class of some 20 classes he took & I studied for finals for 3 hrs i guess.. Subject was done with a decent grade & I was happy..

I was busy in solving as many CAT papers as possible.. Solving online papers on studyplaces & catindiaonline helped.. Studyplaces had started that year & it was free then..Awesome site ๐Ÿ™‚ I guess I was happy with decent preparation & CAT was scheduled on Nov 16th, which fell in the holidays of 7th sem. I was excited & tensed to core!!

This entry was posted in NITK and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to NITK- Chapter 7

  1. ADARSH KUMAR says:

    well the other gals name was nishali…she was almost a perfect women!! i had to shake her hand to know this!!! ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ˜› btw i still miss Melinda ๐Ÿ™‚ hehehehe

  2. Nikhil Prabhakar says:

    Yeah ryt.. It was Nishali Chand ๐Ÿ™‚ Had forgotten her name.. I know U never gave up those half chances ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. strange how google works. I pulled out a search for my name just to see how much of my digital mark is left and i find a blog post with my mention. Hahaha not bad my name is remembered. Although i cant recollect where you from? By the way the other girl is wilinda ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention NITK- Chapter 7 ยซ Nikhil Prabhakar's Weblog -- Topsy.com

  5. Nikhil Prabhakar says:

    @N.C: Thank u for letting us know the right name, it’ll be of some help to Adarsh..
    Guess u sharing the blog wld lead to some unexpected hits!!

  6. hmmm but help my memory here. I dont remember you guys. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  7. Nikhil Prabhakar says:

    Hmm.. NITK , batch 2009.. We traveled to IMS Mlore for workshops.. We have had some GDs together..
    Presently I am at FMS, Pai at IIMC & Adarsh @ Symbi..

  8. hmmm bad bad bad memory i got. Anyway howdy

  9. Nikhil Prabhakar says:

    Pretty Decent life in the freezing winters of Delhi .. How abt u??? In Mlore??

  10. Nope moved to blore for work

  11. Nikhil Prabhakar says:

    Nice. wher u working??

  12. ADARSH KUMAR says:

    OH! great i find these posts after 3 long years!! Great! what are the odds!! i too did a search on myself! got nostalgic! and a bit embarassed !!

Leave a comment