NITK- Chapter 8.2/Friends

I didn’t grow intellectually in my 4 years of Engineering, but life in NITK taught me more useful things than numbers, bits & bytes.. All I learnt in NITK was hardly from any lecturer but mostly from frens.. Time spent with them were fun..Sometimes I even spoke like my frens.. I learnt those typical words very early.. Like “Sayakkhogu”, “Chachax”, “loafers”,”chindi”,”baddi maga”, etc ..Mostly to be blamed on my frens with whom I interacted the most 🙂 Frens made my life in NITK so so special 🙂  Miss them a lot..

Adarsh : One of the closest frens  of mine who worried more than me for my failure & who went mad over my success.. Playing carom at my place, chatting with him for hours, our trips to Sadanand to eat chaats, discussing future, discussing preparation, discussing IMS , our discussions never ended.. Finally it had to be a call from his house or mine to get us back for dinner..He was really nice to me, even after I used to shout at him.. I feel sorry many times for shouting at him … I haven’t seen anyone else who loves life to this extent 🙂  He always believed in the importance of the journey than the destination 🙂 He was  unreal for the race but he was real for what everyone of us would be after 20 more years.. He was one of the strongest hearts who was never bogged down by failure.. He took it as a stepping stone & tried to improve..May all his wishes come true 🙂

Aditya :I was lucky to spend 2 years at SKA with him.. Aditya was stuck in EEE which was the craziest branch & it went to extremes..Initially they screwed the grades of everyone & later they gave them bitti grades with no work & no classes..Aditya was not the one who kept on cribbing around with these things.. He loved trical dept & the faculty over there !! He was one of those  few ppl whom I have never seen in rage.. His polite speaking was always the best part of him..May be due to this quality he is an instant hit among female frens 😉 He is good in physics & mathematics.. That helped me a lot for sure.. I wish we were in the same branch.. I could have shared or yapped anything to him unhesitantly..He was one of those few ppl who spoke more than me..Hehe.. The comfort level I had with him was unmatched.. He was one of the sweetest,harmless, ever charming & fun loving fellows I know 🙂 6 years with him were wonderful!!

Charith: Vegeta was amazing.. He hardly spoke any offensive words, that too after having Jagat as his roommate.. I dono, how did he control himself from hitting all of us :)Even now, the 1st person we get hold as our target to make fun of is, Charith.. He has great patience.. Gets extremely nerdy during exams, he slogs is ass day & night & never forgets to finish the booklet.. His hand writing is worse than mine,OMG, I pity the lecturers who read it 😉 He was always ready to get GPL, but we were the unlucky fellows who had to lift him.. Our legs got tired but he never felt anything !! He loved dragonballzzz & played prince of persia n no of times.. He loved sleep & thats the 2nd most lovable thing after his galfren( who was created by us, rather Manish)

Fantastic 4: I was to be credited for naming their group as fantastic 4.. Akhil, Rakesh, Srikanth & Vinay were an undetachable group.. They used to sit together in class, labs & even during tests..They reserved the bench if any one of them was late 🙂 They were all highly competitive & it was an extremely intelligent group.. While breaking into 2 for projects, I guess they used claps method (not sure).Shaany & Vinny wanted there career in mgmt, Varna & Srikanth always wanted to continue their tech career..Though all 4 were highly competent in their tech knowledge..

Shaany was  always that humble chappar, with smiles on like headlights of the car..Irritating him was hard, as he took everything very lightly..He spent loads of time slogging or watching movies after turning his monitor to the wall  😀 Never leaves even the half chances he might get to get closer to a gal!!(MCA) Its cos of his notes I survived thru many semesters 🙂 Highly legible handwriting..

Vinny was always cool headed, & the most silent of the group.He was the Presi of the NITK chess club.. He was very fast in grasping & hardly spent time in books.. He entered coll with the tag of one of the best coders.. Excellent VA knowledge.. He got a 99.97 percentile in CAT.. That was near perfect!!!!! He is the most truthful of the 4 🙂 (Vinny never lied that he hadn’t studied like other 3, cos Vinny never studied till “the day”)

Varna always entered there room with a hmmmmm sound & he used TU instead of saying goodbye 😛 He was a big dota fan ,who also loved playing cricket .. He was always ready for any kinda sports.. He was prepared with the answers much before exam dates & I  bugged him with doubts.. He was the one who arranged almost all GPLs & I was one of those who arranged his 1st GPL at Mining Sem hall:P

Srikanth was another dota, cs master who was on for full night & slept thru the mornings.. I don’t think he never slept before 3 a.m any day.. He had all the news happening in the college.. I was a frequent visitor to his room & our gossip sharing sessions were immense..He is highly opinionated & pissing him off hardly took time 🙂 Last time I saw him highly bugged was when his saptapadi news was spread( after class trip :D)..

This was an awesome cartel they had formed & these guys were awesome frens 🙂

Harish : S.B is is an ambitious student who used his talent & energies on right things at right times.. He is a diehard ManU fan & I get bored seeing his status messages abt ManU.. He is a good speaker & gets done with his work pretty fast.. FIFA champ, who was always found in Kadli’s room playing FIFA.. He loves to speak NK kannada, & loves Kannada movies.. Guess he has watched more Kannada movies than I have.. This man doesn’t want to come back virgin from USA, lets see if he will manage it 🙂

Jagat: Oh My Fucking God!! (Jagat’s style) I am feeling weird to even call him by name now… So much used to calling him as dawg(dog) or the female version 🙂 It was he who started it but now I guess everyone calls him like this.. He is one of the those guys who is never in hurry/pressure/tension..He is fun loving, simple, light headed fellow..He is so much fun but he is  matured on the other hand.. He & Charith made a hell out of  their room.. They had maintained the dirtiest room in the hostel, though Jagat took bath twice a day, that makes me blame Charith for making the room dirty 🙂 Master of C & C++..He loved dogs .. Jigsaw loved saw series & it was from him that I copied all awesome movies..He clicks the craziest photos ever..He has great talent in searching weird sites & we share all the perverted jokes!!! I miss this bitch..

Manish: The PJ Master bugged us with his PJs so much, that every1 was ready to give him a GPL all  the time 🙂 Mite be we loved his PJs & we missed it after he left the college before every1..His Cricket playing skills always  put me in wonder (EA Sports game, not on ground).. I had even calld him up to ask how to play few shots & score well during the holidays, when he was slogging in Shimoga 🙂 He had tonnes of patience to teach the same topic to every1 coming to his room on the previous night of the exam..But, the best part was that he understood the concept which the whole class couldn’t understand!! Undoubtedly the best coder of the coll (I & Shankar had many arguments based on this & now even Shankar agrees)..He is fun loving person, with the best one liners in the group & with the best PJs..

Note: He even started a blog to write PJs !!

Natasha: I gotta know her well during DDS Lab.. We were lab partners & crime partners.. Guess we have copied in every exam possible & of course never got caught.. I loved her hot chocolate & dairy milk treats 🙂 She was amazing to chat with & she was really sweet 🙂 Gossiping was our fav pastime & we used to spend hours in it.. Ever charming face & a million dollar smile was her USP.. She was one of the hottest gal in the coll & guys went crazy behind her.. She was very easy to mingle with & never put up an attitude..She was clear abt what she wanted from life & was always composed.She worked hard when required & partied harder.. I could easily confide to her & I knew it wldn’t go out 🙂 She was great to hang out with & a very matured gal 🙂

Nikhil: Nikhil was my closest fren in coll.. We didn’t fight even once 😦 That remains the saddest truth.. I used to live in his room, sleep there & of course did no work..Academically he was brilliant & it helped me to concentrate on my preparations when he worked on the projects.. I envy him cos my mom thinks that I shld become like him & I surely can’t.. He is the biggest Kanjoos I have seen in my life.. He was one fren to whom confiding was easy & he gave healthy suggestions when required..He was the biggest bakra for GPL.. Though he doesn’t know yet that I had given him a GPL on class photoshoot day.. Inci nights, movies, arguments on MTV Roadies(cos I liked Tamanna & he didn’t) to Sachin Tendulkar , discussing issues of socio economic importance, getting “rapped” during major project by Annappa sir & roaming around to get printout, all these memories would remain..  Nikhil wasn’t sure what to take up for career but he was dedicated to do well in whatever he takes(either mgmt/tech)..  He is a voracious reader & he followed up every sport.. I could literally discuss every topic with him & he would know about it.. He always had deep knowledge about subjects & tried to learn more.. He never gave a negative comment on anything with the 1st impression, he used to say that it was mediocre.. He tried to be as diplomatic as possible.. We kinda have similar tastes,&  thoughts flow in a similar fashion which helped us in gelling up easily..He is a very bad singer & he can kill u with it 🙂 He was the worst fellow in Rotract club, he didn’t do a single job in it.. He would never call up anyone, he has made his cellphone one way I guess.. Every time I talk to him I see something new in him which is worth learning & I guess he is the fren whom I miss the most 🙂

Nitin: Bakki is a very emotional person,extremely hardworking & intelligent.. He gets hurt easily sometimes cos of his soft & emotional nature , but its easier to make his mood better.. Very kind at heart.. He is a database of Hindi songs.. Master in antakshari & a good singer.. He has helped me a lot when I was stuck with circuit subjects & his notes were always there for photocopy 🙂 His academics where always at peak & he consistently did well.. He is a very sweet fren who always gives right suggestions 🙂

Prathik: P2P, my only roommate till date was straight forward & gets pissed off easily.. Manish pissed him off very easily & quickly 🙂 During the classes whenever Prathik asked anything, Manish had only 1 answer, ur wife.. Where were u? With ur wife..What are u doing? I am with ur wife.. etc.. Guess anyone would get angry on listening to it for n number of times.. Yet Manish & Prathik were project partners for a long time.. Prathik loved singing aloud & he listened to music whenever he was high after boozing.. He liked the fan on in full speed even in cracking cold.. I used to wait till he is deep asleep & switch off the fan before I sleep 😛 By morning it used to be in full speed again !! He loved drinking soda.. Puthri always used to get me out while playing cricket with smiley ball in our PG.. Had a great time with him for a month in Blore..

Ramakrishna: We were benchmates in 1st sem (until he attended classes :D) & we used to chat a lot about movies in holidays.. We spent hrs discussing reviews of movies & we planned what movies to watch.. We both liked Aamir & used to discuss his movies.. Cricket was our another fav topic.. Once we checked seniors placement record & even after quite some time Roll No. 41 & 51 weren’t placed. Those were our Roll no.s so we thought even we wont get placed 🙂 But Rama ditched me & was one of the 1st fellows to get placed .. He was a fun loving person who loved to sleep a lot 🙂

Shankar: He was one of the most emotional & sensitive characters in class.. He worked a lot for the class & he enjoyed doing it.. He tried to remain in good lines with everyone he met & was always dependable :)He is a good poet & he is a good listener too..He is a good speaker when he is in a flow, but he is the worst speaker when someone interrupts him..He is soft spoken & polite.. A lady charmer, who always had doubts in the subjects taught by female lecturers!! We shared a great rapport & he was one person who always got me gifts on my birthdays… He takes time to adjust at any new place.. He had run away to home many times in 1st semester 🙂 May all his dreams come true !!

Srinidhi: We were classmates  for 2 years in SKA.. He was the best student @ SKA.. He was brilliant in both academics & sports.. He was full of energy & was surrounded by frens..He never prioritized frens & his charm made him a leader of the group.. I still remember those days, when we played cricket in front of my house in a small pitch 🙂 His imagination of the monster turtle was memorable.. He is a polite & soft spoken guy who speaks thru his actions.. His hunger for knowledge made him reach the heights.. Cricket is his passion & even when he visited us, he pulled everyone to play.. I missed him a lot for the last 3 years of my engineering after he left to join IITM..

The Roommates: Arun & Yash were roommates for 3 years & it was their room where I & Nikhil spent most of our time..  Yash & Arun shared one of the weirdest chemistry.. They spoke very less to each other & even for the slightest inquiry they pinged me or Nikhil.. That forced us to pass any information to both of them or pass it to anyone & specifically tell him to pass it to the other.. That never meant they had hard feelings, they supported each other & argued when either I or Nikhil was against one of them.. Just that they didn’t show off the friendship they had for each other 🙂

Naturally with high temper but soft looking Arun & Yash were were generous in bearing me & Nikhil all the time.. That was their room where I studied for my every exam..Nikhil  used  to join in there & later the groups would go larger when the discussions started.. Before AI exam there were about 12 ppl studying in that room !!

Arun was very soft spoken, humorous & reserved.. He opened up only with close frens.. He liked & saw all the daring & scary videos of animals & snakes.. Sometimes we used to bang his head for that.. He liked Bobby( Roadies 6, God she didn’t even do any task still).. Nikhil liked Natasha & I liked Tamanna & Natasha both.. So our arguments & discussions over them went for hours.. We usually saw the episodes together… We went together for lunch, dinner etc… Yash usually stopped our arguments on Roadies females cos he used to get irritated when our voices went up & disturbed his sitcoms 🙂 His love for dota bored me & that ofcourse didn’t matter.. Yash talked non stop  but at times he never even opened his mouth..He greeted every1 who entered the room & made them comfortable.. Many times I used to come back to hostel after finishing classes to see him still sleeping 🙂 Yet he maintained his attendance as much as required 🙂 These 2 guys are very close & any writing of mine wouldn’t do justice to them..

Vaibhav : The child prodigy with an extremely sharp brain.. He is quick in picking up ideas & extremely good at converting them into something tangible.. Excellent coding skills, high on creativity, fun loving, smiles flashing always, thin like a bamboo & the lazy style of walking 🙂 We spent lotta time discussing nonsense during 2 nd sem & the holidays following it.. When classes got boring, he used to open the last page to draw some puzzle which he had seen & started solving them.. A superb fren 🙂

Yohan : Yohan was the athletic kid who liked to play any kinda sports available.. He was strong , well built & I still remember his performance in Bharatdarshan… OMG!! It looked scary, fighting with swords & all… Pakka Mallu who used to check if he has sloshed out after boozing by drawing a straight line & trying to walk on it 🙂 To realize in the morning that the line in itself wasn’t straight..:) Crazy guy.. I guess there would be nothing in life on which he wouldn’t have laid a hand on.. He would have tried out everything & I guess that makes him more lively & going 🙂

Its not just these loafers but there were many more frens who made my 4 years of Engineering very spl..

This entry was posted in NITK and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment