NITK- Chapter 8.3/The Final Journey

8th sem started with a search for electives.. I wasn’t bothered about it cos I had done my job pretty well in 7th sem & I got the required electives 🙂 Soumya ma’am was offering Advanced Topics in Computer Networks.. EDM was offered by Sequeira sir & Environmental Impact Assignment was offered by Civil Dept.. We had IS as our only compulsory course from the dept..

I needed a lotta free time for travelling so the subjects chosen provided me enough free time.. Pias never took attendance.. In EIA attendance didn’t matter & we took Soumya ma’am for granted (that was bad on our part).. EDM required some amount of attendance but I gave sir leave letters giving the reason of my processes & he was happy that I was taking up MBA.. My job was done 🙂

Nikhil had completed 80% of Major project by now & convincing the seniors about implementation wasn’t a big deal.. Our only problem was strict externals during the presentations.. Annappa had decided to screw us & he made us slog for the Major project at the end.. We had K.C.Shet as the external for mid sem & I was damn scared of presenting to him, so much that I was searching for the slideshow button.. LOl.. Happens 🙂 Nikhil managed everything very well in the project & I was more concerned about preparing the final document.. We had 2 repeats for the same & our report was accepted for the 3rd time !! We didn’t get screwed anytime during presentation but our biggest headache was getting the diary signed every week.. After standing for 1 hour in front of his chamber Annappa sir used to call us & ask Qs based on what we had written, of which he understood nothing..

For the final signature on the report he irritated us to core & made us wait for 1 full day.. On the other hand Vani ma’am signed it for Manish as soon as she saw him.. Manish was such a lucky ass!!

Pias was creating problems for most of the people.. His surprise tests were very irritating..They did not test concepts but tested the calculator’s storage capacity.. He got so crazy at times, that he gave surprise tests in consecutive classes 😦 I & Nikhil missed the surprise test on Jan 27th ..We didn’t attend the class as we came late after the IMS National Achievers’ Session held at Blore.. We learnt a lot from the session & we were extremely happy after it.. 🙂 I & Nikhil had chatted in the bus for long time & somehow it didn’t interest us to attend the class..  Big Deal!! I don’t think anyone would have scored more than 10 of 25 that means 2 of 5.. Pias screwed my mid sem by giving some shitty logic with which I & Arun didn’t agree.. End sem paper was awesome & it was not meant to be attempted: D Initially I thought I would flunk but then I was more bothered abt my grade cos I know he couldn’t flunk so many ppl below me.. Ofcourse he screwed my grade too!! Bah..

EIA was so much cool & most of the topics were repeated from Air & Noise Pollution so I could easily do well.. EDM was an interesting subject & now I realize that he had covered few good topics!! Very useful course & it went well.. TCN put no pressure at all.. We had simple presentation & mid sem for the internals.. Finals were also easy.. My mid sem was delayed cos of IIFT 2nd round process & this provided me a longer time to study for it, so it helped me 🙂 For internals, I hadn’t even seen the presentation.. Manish had downloaded it & had changed few things.. Ma’am had given us 10 mins to present & we dragged it to 45 mins..Ma’am was being deliberately soft on our batch 🙂

Semester began with the new year.. New Year celebration was special this time.. Went out with Arun, Yash, Nikhil, Adarsh & Shankar to watch Ghajini, then had an awesome dinner at Palkhi .. Guess that was the best dinner I ever had at that place.. Adarsh then told an awesome definition for vegetarian J Eating all the curry from chicken curry made him vegetarian.. Only if he ate the pieces, it made him non vegetarian.. We found an empty bus to return but only after some wait & it was good experience shouting in an empty bus… The best part was the game we played later.. The game was that the name of 3 gals were given to every1 & they had to choose whom they wld marry, the one they wld kill & the one who wld be just a fren to them.. The names were given to every1 so that it could make them uncomfortable..Later we changed the format a bit with an awesome addition!! Shankar was kinda disappointed after listening to similar answer from all of us on his true love: D Later every1 was kinda forced to choose one of their fren whom they wld like to marry.. It was too easy for me though 🙂 Nikhil Bhat was the kid who was caught with awesome answers.. Later we had the 1st photoshoot of the year & we left to my home with Charith joining us in coll.. We found a kitten on the road & we brought it home.. We named it Asin, it was sooo cute..  Adarsh’s one liners abt cat is memorable.. I & Yash had enjoyed food like never before J

This sem was a happening one.. Everything was so fast & I was struggling to manage time, yet I never stopped spending time with friends.. I enjoyed their company 🙂 Bunking classes & sitting in hostel had become a habit now.. Uneven timings of the classes made me spend much more time bugging Yash, Arun & Nikhil..

A class trip was planned & even the buses were booked.. Finally it got cancelled for some weirdest reasons 🙂 Few guys didn’t turn up cos gals din.. That was desperate!! Hehe..Then all those who had confirmed for the trip had to contribute for the advance paid  to the bus..Even i did.. Shankar was busy in social service & he had forgotten food & sleep for that..

Incident 2009!! This time we had Kunal Ganjawala & Nikhil Chinnappa performing on stage.. I tried to participate in every other event…Arun’s script was used for the drama.. We weren’t ready with the heroine even on the morning of the show.. An MTech gal finally became the actress & she did well in the given time of 10 mins to prepare.. Drama didn’t go well as much as we expected it to..The script was simply superb 🙂  Vinay had come for the Inci to meet Shishira & they were surely having a great time..Vinay attended most of the major programmes & this couple was a centre of attraction for many kids in the junior block..Lol.. I participated in Quiz & Kannada & Hindi Antakshari..Ofcourse I lost it..

Again the same things continued.. I stayed at Nikhil’s room & we stayed awake for long time.. Though we didn’t touch 5 in the morning this time.. We had a good photo shoot after the Ganjawala’s performance & we knew it was the beginning of the end.. Bhatta was getting senti during the photoshoot & that made most of us feel bad.. It was the most happening night 🙂  Time spent with Natasha , Sukhi & Amogh during Inci was awesome.. Natasha & I had this regular habit of chatting after the class for sometime.. On so many occasions we had to see the watch to leave the coll but our discussions never ended..At  times when bored to study for exams we calld up each other & arrived early for the exam & sat in the hall chatting with books closed.. God knows how we managed to do well in exams :)We discussed anything & everything in world.. Our discussions hardly revolved around the academics as neither of us were interested in it.. Smriti video was getting ready & all the shoots were on for a day.. It was time to fill ur thoughts abt ur frens & I was travelling, missing most of it..

After Incident I spent about 10 days away from college & April looked nearer.. I had told Shankar about the FMS interview date, yet he couldn’t arrange the class trip on different day cos he was expecting a particular group to join in on that day..Alas, neither the group joined nor I.. Shankar wasn’t feeling happy abt that.. I missed the fun of class trip but I had set up my next 2 years & I didn’t regret 🙂

Then it was the time for the class photoshoot & Comps had an excellent 2 hours of photoshoot unlike other branches.. We clicked more than 1500 pics that day.. That was amazing!!We had a special photoshoot on bike with all of us sitting on it..Jagat & Nikhil looked desperate in those pics 😉 Finally a dog was ready for the pic with Jagat after most of them had run away.. Later I went to beach with Rama, Manish, Jagat , Arun & Nikhil.. We drank litres of sugarcane juice on the way..We shouted in the beach as if the whole sea & the beach was ours 🙂

Ring Ceremony was the most expected function & the whole batch was already talking about it.. NITK is the only coll in India which has such a ceremony.. This was supposed to happen in SAC & everything was ready.. Soumya ma’am was looking good & even the class gals were looking extra cute 🙂 Ajey Sudeep gave an awesome speech & we were enjoying the evening.. The rain disturbed the evening & we shifted to SJA.. SJA was filled up & there was hardly any place to sit.. Many students had to stand..We took oath 3 times cos of the power failure!! HOD was giving rings to all students & every student later put the ring to their middle finger to show it off in the photo 😀 We had a class photo again with the lecturers.. Individual or small group pics with fav lecturers..It was time for the dinner… Dinner was arranged @ sports complex & photoshoot continued with ice creams in hand & ice cream sticks in mouth.. After that we went to watch Sarkar Raaj in SAC.. Mostly Compsies were there & few others from different branches who wanted to make out 😛 Later I sat with Natasha & Amogh till 1 a.m in front of the Civil Dept & had a good chat..

It was time for the farewell.. The gift was good but the farewell was boring.. Lecturers weren’t called.. The concept of farewell lacked creativity & even the food wasn’t tasty.. The same old musical chair, speeches & appreciations.. There was no humour.. I left after getting bored for sometime..

Thanks giving ceremony to thank our lecturers was arranged in Suraj.. It was a good event but unfortunately many lectures didn’t turn up.. Soumya ma’am, Vani ma’am , Freeda ma’am, Dwarkish sir & Annappa sir were the only one who were the part of this function.. We all interacted freely with lecturers & most of us got the chance to speak about our experiences.. Bala made Soumya ma’am cry.. Hehe..Lunch was awesome & the day went beautifully 🙂

The best part of this semester was that Nikhil Bhat had agreed to give a treat.. Manish & Nikhil were finally giving their placement treat 🙂 OMG, it was the 8th wonder..We had to take revenge for making us wait, so we ate like never before.. Increased the bill more than required..Gave GPLs to them & left Suraj..They walked till hostel & I walked further till home..

The following Monday the exams started.. I had invited Soumya ma’am home & invited frens  for lunch..Picked up ma’am during lunch break & frens joined later.. Ma’am spent most of her time with Mamma & we frens were watching TV & talking nonsense as usual 🙂 It was a great time with Ma’am.. She mingled with all of us & got very comfortable.. She spent few hours with us discussing different things & time just flew away.. She saw all the weird pics we had taken, she appreciated those weird poses of Jagat in pics 😉 Ma’am made the day very special to us 🙂

Then we went busy in exams & time flew away.. Later I tried to arrange an evening at the beach & Comps night out.. Devika helped me particularly by getting the gals out of the block.. Without her the job wasn’t possible.. The evening at the beach was wonderful & was spent in playing , chatting , which followed by photos..:) Then we all had sugarcane juice which was supposed to be my FMS treat & later most of us had our dinner at GNPD.. Some frens couldn’t join us for dinner cos they were all wet after playing in beach.. We sat as a group & chatted with everyone.. The interaction was good & relaxed with no pressure of academics now.. Few of us had ice creams at Reddy’s & we dropped the gals back to GB.. Followed that were loud singing of songs on road.. “Pyaar Hame Kis Mod Pe le aya”.. Vaibhav, Jagat, MMM, Arun & Nikhil played football for sometime & rest of us were chatting.. Most weirdest photo shoot is what followed next, in the ATM.. Haha…

Nightout was arranged in 8th block but due to some earlier problems the security was stepped up.. Gals entering the boy’s block was impossible.. Devika, Anjali & Natasha were already out of the block & the block timings were strict.. This led to the shifting of the venue to Amogh’s house.. But the biggest problem was that Devika & Anjali were stuck up in electrical dept lab.. They had to come out of the compound which was 6 feet tall with the glass pieces etched on them.. I & Anup had to search for a place which was safe to jump without any glasses.. Later Vaibhav & Shankar joined Devika & Anjali inside the compound & I waited with Anup outside.. With the help of Vaibhav & Shankar , Devika & Anjali climbed the walls & jumped.. Both of them had bruises.. Poor gals!! Later we were joined by other frens at Amogh’s place.. SB was sloshed out & even Jagat was drunk..We played mafia for sometime & started chatting.. Amogh & Natasha went to beach for a walk.. By the time we realized it was almost morning, we started feeling hungry..Vaibhav & Kadli dropped SB  back to his room & rest of us went to eat Tadambail to eat.. Vaibhav & Kadli joined us on the way.. Already Kailash & DL were having their morning tea over there.. It was 5 a.m & we started hogging whatever was available.. After drinking tea, all of us left back.. Vaibhav went to play football.. I was tired & wanted some sleep..I had to get back to Natasha at 11.. We had planned to get our no dues signed @ 11(that never happened as she woke up late & I went to Soumya ma’am to collect my slam book)..

Next day I left with Natasha to finish our postponed work of getting the no due certificate signed.. We were finishing it fast before the delay occurred @ hostel office.. We were joined by Nikhil & Arun there, who had just started it.. After hostel we left to the dept, HOD was missing & we had to come back that noon for his sign.. We finished our job & left..

It was soon the time to say Goodbyes.. Manish was the 1st to leave..He left half an hour early & I could meet him only on the way after he had left his room.. I walked with him & other frens to busstop & he left after few mins.. This was the 1st time I felt so bad.. I missed his presence more than I ever did, knowing that we wouldn’t be meeting for min a year or even more.. I went home & cried to mom.. I couldn’t see Nikhil & Arun after Manish left.. They missed him more than I did..

The same evening I, Puthri, Arun & Nikhil went to the NITK beach.. We talked less  & we were all busy in our thoughts, every1 was feeling bad.. The period @ NITK had come to an end.. That beach never looked as special as it did that day. It was the last day when I went to beach with frens.. With each passing day, a close fren had to leave & I was left alone..

Nikhil was the next to leave..His parents arrived.. Aunty & Uncle visited home & that was very sweet of them 🙂 They even brought us the sweets .. They didn’t stay for long as they had to leave the same afternoon.. Nikhil was leaving & I felt as if my own brother was leaving me.. I went to hostel to bid him goodbye.. As the time arrived the feeling of his leaving was more painful.. 😦 But, he had to leave… I was almost into tears when he was leaving, Nikhil hugged me before he got into the vehicle & told ” I’ll miss U hero”.. I cldn’t even reply & by no time he had left..  Arun told me later that even Nikhil hadn’t slept all night.. He lived with those guys for 4 full years, he wld miss that place & frens more than I ever could.. I told mom everything & cried again.. One of them would leave everyday & make me cry.. These loafers were making me feel alone..

Later it was Arun who left with his family.. His family had come to pick him up.. Had met his parents before but now met his sis & aunty also.. They all were so happy when taking their son back.. Arun was mixed with emotions & every1 was understanding the importance of this place.. This place meant a lot to us, it had changed our life.. Crying had become routine for me..

Jagat & Vaibhav then left in an unusual way. I & Shankar went to bus stop to drop them.. We waited for 2 hours & we came back when their bus didn’t come.. They themselves waited for 4 hrs & when they got bugged & returned to coll they saw the bus coming then.. They had to stop it & then they left to Pune..

Yash’s Uncle came from Tumkur.. Yash was leaving in the evening..It rained that evening & it was lil bit of a problem for him then. He left the coll wet in the Surathkal rain & mite be his eyes were equally wet.. He didn’t want to leave that room & that place, but he had to leave cos an awesome future was awaiting him..He was the last to leave form the group.. His sms made my tears flow..Its always good to leave early cos there wldn’t be a need to cry after each of ur fren leaves..

I was the last one to leave after a month.. I came to college with mom to take pics before I left.. That building had the sounds & memories of the time spent.. The empty main buildings, the fountain, the lions reminded me of the photos we had taken there.. Empty corridors missed the flare it had.. Notice board was empty..  Could feel the beats of music in SAC.. Missed frens while eating samosa at Amul.. Met Adarsh @ college & it was time for me to leave the place I loved for what it was.. But I was taking the memories of each moment I spent there.. NITK had taught me dreaming & I dreamt of living those 4 years again..

NITK was just not classes, it was more. It had Friends, Windows Lab, Putty, Mid sems, surprise tests, end sems, chair race, flash games, Soumya ma’am’s room, chocolates, power failure, Friends, DDS Lab, Reddy’s shop, Shanbhag’s shop, hot chocolate, cone ice cream, maggi, Friends, ATB, co-op society, DC, D-006, rockets in MTP class, Dwarkish Sir’s video, FC/SNP, Friends, movies, hostel, night canteen, 8th block mess, loud music, Incident nights, assignments, stupid chats, Friends, Placement Dept, SAC, SJA, concerts, GNPD, sugar cane juice, Friends ,light house, temple, beach, rocks,A1 , night out b4 exams, copying, Uday shankar’s derivation, movies, Friends, LAN, dusty roads,  ADLABS, Pizza hut, CCD, Palkhi, Friends, Gold Finch, Depot, Punjabi Dhaba, Ideal Ice creams, Pabbas, Cherry Square, SadS, Suraj, treats, Panambur beach, NITK beach, Malpe, Friends, egg burji, gossips, secrets, crush, proposals, rejections, tears, anger, fights, love, Friends & Life.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment